Past
2016Taiwan Ceramics Biennale
2016 Taiwan Ceramics Biennale
Art is a type of production activities in a society and culture. It is a medium for as well as experiential reflection of man’s interaction with the society, his environment and nature. For a creator, creation is an expression of what s/he thinks, how s/he feels and where s/he lives, the lexicon of his or her own. Today, art genres are hard to be defined. Ceramic art creation per se is done by artists from various fields across the world. Ceramics has evolved from utilitarian craftsmanship into pure fine art. Contemporary ceramic art has been enriched by diverse art experiences and techniques. Through artists’ observation, contemplation and creation, ceramic artwork gives an expression of its creator’s opinions on times, history and culture. Made of materials taken from nature, ceramic works of art may be seen as cultural products and social practices. Ceramic art has grown vigorously because of the expansion of its range, and its perspectives are more diversified because of the nature of materials and the uniqueness of techniques.

Contemporary ceramic art is a form of art developed from traditional ceramics. Artists explore new creative possibilities among conventional pottery shapes. They give new life to objects. They extend their artistic energy, creativity and visions to their artwork. Whether an expression of tangible figure or intangible ideas, ceramic artwork is an articulation of vision and a practice of ideas. Those pieces of art are not merely some visible objects. They are also interpretations of ways of thinking about ceramic art and platforms where art collides and intertwines with the society, environment and public sphere. By observing, pondering, analyzing and reviewing their own culture, artists search for their core values, identities and cultural significance. Only when they come back to the very essence will they be able to thoroughly engage in independent thinking, to make decisions, to raise questions, and to change the status quote—which is one of the missions of art creation.

Whether in one piece or in multiple pieces, those works of art explore the nature of ceramics, creative expressions of ceramic art and traditional as well as innovative techniques to realize the richness and diversification of modern ceramic art. They concretely manifest the primary spirit of “ceramics” and the theme “Concept”. In addition, in recent years, many artists have paid close attention on expanding the boundaries of ceramic art, crossover art, breakthroughs of languages and forms of creative expression, searching for the application of new materials, and expanding the depth and width of ceramic creation. Yet those global trends in modern art also reveal the blurring lines and uncertainties of the homogeneity and heterogeneity of materials and those of crossover collaborations in ceramic art. Another concern worth examining is the global ceramic art talent gap. In any case, the diversification of modern ceramic art comes from artists who freely express their various ways of thinking through their own art languages. And that is exactly what Taiwan Ceramics Biennale would like to present through the means of international competition, in order to inspire new possibilities of ceramic art and other fields in Taiwan, to represent different ideologies, and to lead the general public to enter and experience the beauty of ceramic art.

This year’s Taiwan Ceramics Biennale, with a core structure centered on the theme “Concept”, has further categorized the 119 pieces of art into two sub-themes based on artist’s statements and forms of expression, in order to help the viewers to obtain a general understanding of the artwork and of the relationships among materials, functions, forms, space and creation concepts. The two sub-themes are “Ceramics Beyond Vessels” and “Concept Beyond Objects”. As a matter of fact, no categorization can fully describe the ideas and concepts of the artwork created. However it is still hoped that the sub-themes for and the visual display of the works of art may guide viewers in their appreciation, reflection and exchanging ideas as they navigate the world of those artists and learn the nature of the artwork and the trends of modern ceramic art.

web: http://public.ceramics.ntpc.gov.tw/2016/

2014Taiwan Ceramics Biennale
2014 Taiwan Ceramics Biennale
Now in its 5th edition, the Taiwan Ceramics Biennale has become an important platform for international exchanges in the field of ceramic art since it was first held in 2004. In order to secure the maximum possible participation of ceramic artists from around the world, the highest prize money among similar events was offered for the first biennale 10 years ago. In the end, nearly 700 artists submitted their works, among which several were selected as winners and exhibited during the event. The biennale four years later was also competitive in nature, with artists from some 50 countries submitting their works. Having had two exhibitions which featured works chosen on a competitive basis, the organizers compared the biennale with similar events known internationally and found that many works were entered into multiple competitions repeatedly. Such a practice resulted in repetition and limited the scope of exhibitions. Consequently, in 2010, a decision was made to alternate between curatorial competitions and ceramic work competitions while ensuring the depth and the scope of each exhibition. The purpose is to allow the public access to a greater variety of works on the one hand and, on the other, to continue to provide ceramic artists with an opportunity to make themselves known.

Following the 2012 biennale, which was held around a competition of ceramic works, Yingge Ceramics Museum began to plan for the 2014 event. Like the one in 2010, it is to be based on a curatorial competition. So early this year, an invitation was issued to ceramic professionals, scholars and curators to ask for exhibition proposals in the form of an outline. As of the end of March deadline, 18 proposals from 12 countries were received. They were reviewed by seven Taiwanese judges, including curators, ceramic artists and experts, in a meeting held at Yingge Ceramics Museum on the afternoon of April 29. The judges studied the potential for development and execution of each proposal as well as the experience of each curator who had submitted a proposal before picking eight for consideration in the final selection. For this stage, each of the eight curators was asked to provide a detailed proposal.

When the deadline for that expired on June 30, the museum received detailed and complete proposals from seven curators. Three foreign judges -- from Australia, the United States and Japan, respectively -- joined four local judges for the final selection meeting on the morning of Aug. 5. They discussed issues such as the theme of each proposal and the strength of its argument, the feasibility of the plan, its comprehensiveness, display arrangement, educational activities and publicity recommendations. In the end, Wendy Gers from South Africa won out with her proposal titled “Ceramics Now: Art, Design & Digital Materiality” to become the winning curator of the 2014 Taiwan Ceramics Biennale.

The concepts contained in the seven proposals reviewed by the judges were varied. One began with the nature of ceramic as a medium and sought to display the techniques and process of the making of ceramics. Another one employed modern technologies and added elements of media such as audio-visual recordings and action art. Yet another focused on the development of 3D printing and virtual pottery wheels as examples of the combination of contemporary ceramic art and new technologies. It was evident that all the proposals were full of creative ideas on the part of the participating curators and their observations and creative thinking about the trends in contemporary ceramic art. These efforts made interesting topics during the selection process.

During that process, several judges expressed the view that the Taiwan Ceramics Biennale should be one that can facilitate exchange and dialogue between Taiwan and the world outside by ensuring the event is both Taiwanese and international in nature. The judges also hoped the biennale can be influential enough to provide some theoretical basis for future studies on ceramics. It was hoped that the event will contribute a perspective that is both global and forward-looking to the development of contemporary ceramic art and help inspire local artists at the same time. It is because of these considerations that the proposal by Gers won unanimous approval. In her proposal, Gers touched on such topics as local traditional ceramic works, the current trend of ceramic recycling and another new trend to combine ceramic art and technologies. She envisioned an exhibition that would encompass both the past and the future, one that would display works from a great variety of sources and that would contain educational activities featuring Taiwanese culture.

2012Taiwan Ceramics Biennale
2012 Taiwan Ceramics Biennale
The "Taiwan Ceramics Biennale" is the only large international ceramic art exhibition held in Taiwan. Since it was first organized by Yingge Ceramics Museum in 2004, the biennale has done much to introduce the people of Taiwan to the very latest contemporary ceramic art work. At the same time, the event also enables us to invite international ceramic artists to Taiwan where they can learn more about Taiwanese ceramic art culture. Over many years of hard work the "Taiwan Ceramics Biennale" has excelled at bringing together Taiwanese and international ceramic artists.

The 2012 Taiwan Ceramics Biennale selects works to be exhibited at the biennale through a competitive format. In addition to the competition element of the biennale, Yingge Ceramics Museum also presents an exhibition that focuses on the meaning the 111 artists convey through their works. To that end, it is our hope that dividing the pieces into one central theme and four sub-themes will enable visitors to better understand and appreciate the works.

Ceramic Visions

The word "manifestation" (象) refers to the appearance of an object. It also alludes to the creative process in which an artist combines a tangible exterior with intangible ideas. The nominated works for this exhibition can be divided into four broad categories: Physical Manifestation - the pursuit of external beauty; Mental Manifestation - uncovering inner feelings and emotions; Environmental Manifestation - a narrative record of the contemporary social environment; Existential Manifestation - a discussion of change and uncertainty in time and space.

"Observation" (觀象) suggests the existence of different interpretative viewpoints. Although an artist's work is infused with his or her own point of view, when seen by a third party, the power of interpretation is transferred to the viewer. The result is often an altogether different understanding. In this sense, a work of art is like a mirror, because it reflects the life experience and inner world of the observer. At the same time, the process of viewing art also forces the observer to reconsider the relationships between objects and their meaning. The result is a dialogue with the artist that can lead to even more creative sparks.

"Manifestation" and "observation" are elements in an ongoing dialectical discourse between artist and viewer. It is through this dynamic process that we have crafted a ceramic vision that is highly diverse in nature. The 2012 Taiwan Ceramics Biennale encourages viewers to embrace their own interpretations of the works on display. Within an arena in which there are no limits to exchange, the biennale showcases a very modern vision of ceramic art.

The exhibition theme and categories were chosen to help viewers better appreciate and understand the art works on display. However, although categorization can be useful as a rough guide it also places artificial limits around artistic creation, so it is important to recognize that the four manifestations adopted at the biennale offer visitors nothing more than a place to start their exploration of ceramic art. Ultimately, how an individual interprets or feels about a work of art is determined at a personal level and that is the spirit that underpins this exhibition. The 2012 Taiwan Ceramics Biennale invited four art critics to evaluate works in the four designated categories, believing that different perspectives would ensure an exhibition as rich and diverse in ideas and opinions as art.

2010Taiwan Ceramics Biennale
2010 Taiwan Ceramics Biennale
Korero is a word in New Zealand Maori for exchanges of information – conversations.

This is an international exhibition where the conversations are between ceramics, one of the oldest art forms in history, and with contemporary life in all its variants.

The great American, Ralph Waldo Emerson, in 1849, said, ‘In conversation the game is to say something new with old words’. So it is when the conversation is applied to art, particularly ceramic art, for the tools are long known and layered in antiquity but the expression must be contemporary.

Studio ceramics, along with contemporary art of many genres is deeply engaged in exchanges – with other art forms, with histories, with philosophies, with wider domains such as industrial production, with current preoccupations and spheres of contemporary life, in fact with society and culture in all its diversities, and these are often referred to in texts as ‘conversations’.

2008Taiwan Ceramics Biennale
2008 Taiwan Ceramics Biennale
Most of the people on Taiwan, a sea-surrounded island, have heard the sound of the pounding surf and have sensed the vast distance and breadth of the ocean. I do not know whether an affectionate attachment for the sea in its boundlessness has indelibly marked the land for those who live here. We believe that the boundlessness of art may be just like that of the sea, and that creative freedom, like the sea, is just as borderless and absent of framework.
2004Taiwan Ceramics Biennale
2004 Taiwan Ceramics Biennale
Taiwan, where the continental plates meet and historical tides clash, faces the mainland across the Taiwan Strait. For hundreds of years, the beauty of Formosa has charmed many sailors and seamen passing this important water channel. Taiwan is a small island, but the seas surrounding her receive the waters of the hundreds of rivers running out of the inland mountains. For centuries a unique local culture has gradually taken shape, and character unique to the people of Taiwan has facilitated the absorption of elements from other cultures.

Taiwan’s contemporary ceramics follows traditions established by preceding generations. A style unique to the island has grown and developed over the course of the past several decades. In the 1980s and 90s, ceramicists schooled in Western countries and Japan returned to Taiwan, bringing a new contemporary style to their work. As Taiwan’s contemporary ceramics continued to flourish, local ceramicists began to have exchanges with the international ceramics community. The ideas of contemporary ceramicists from Taiwan were heard in many countries around the world.

The first Taiwan Ceramics Biennale invites ceramic critics and ceramicists to Taiwan to take part in the international competition, symposium and workshops, bringing their own experience in ceramics and unique pottery making techniques. At the onset of the new century we hope through this biennial event to witness the development of ceramic art in the world and inject more vitality into a new epoch for ceramics.

歷屆展覽
2016臺灣國際陶藝雙年展
2016臺灣國際陶藝雙年展
藝術,是人在於社會與文化的生產活動,也是人與社會、所接觸之人事物、大自然之間的媒介與體驗呈現。創作,對於創作者而言是在傳達其所思、所感和所生活的人事物,藉此建立其獨有的語彙表現。現今藝術類型無可訂定其範圍與界限,許多跨越國界、不同領域藝術家也進行陶瓷藝術創作,陶瓷從實用工藝進入到純藝術領域,不同的藝術經歷與體現手法成為當代陶瓷藝術表現的豐富來源。藝術家從觀察、觀看到構思、創作出的陶作,既反映時代,也具歷史性與文化性,而取自大自然的陶藝創作,則可視為一種文化產物與社會實踐。陶藝因創作的領域擴大而更加蓬勃,復因材料本質及表現手法的特殊性,使之更具多元的觀點面向。

當代陶藝是在傳統陶瓷的基礎上發展的藝術形式,藝術家從傳統陶瓷器皿造型出發,探討新的創作可能性,利用藝術創作重新賦予物件新生命,提升其藝術能量、延伸創意與其前瞻性,在陶藝作品上表達外在有形具象或內在無形意念的過程,正是一種自我視野、語彙乃至於作品存在、觀念的實踐,並不僅是賴於某種有形的表現,儼然是陶藝創作思維、觀念的改變,也是藝術與社會、環境以及公共領域的交流與碰撞。藝術家透過觀察、思考、剖析、回顧自身文化,找尋其核心價值、認同與文化意義。回歸本質,才能更透徹地獨立思考,做出選擇、提問,進而改變現況,也是藝術創作所賦予的使命。

從單一物件到群組裝置表現的作品中,不難發現作品持續探索陶藝本質、思考陶藝創作表現,其傳統與創新技術的層層堆積,造就現代陶藝豐富的表現性,也擷取出陶瓷藝術多面向特質,如此的藝術表現具體地呈現「陶」的主體精神與「觀」的實踐;此外,近年來許多藝術家關注在如何擴大陶藝界限,強調陶瓷拓展及跨界的交流,除了強調創作語言及形式的突破外,亦在尋找新材料的創作空間,衍伸陶藝創作的廣度與深度,然而,在這全球當代藝術化趨勢的時代裡,也顯露出陶藝創作在當代藝術領域中,表現媒材之本質與異質、跨域合作的陶藝觀念之邊界亦趨向模糊及不確定性,同時從本屆國際競賽展參與度也顯露出國際間陶藝創作人才斷層的衝擊等疑慮,耐人尋味,值得探討。世界當代陶藝多樣化即在於這些藝術家特有的詮釋語言與藝術表達形塑出多元、自由表現的陶藝觀,這也是臺灣國際陶藝雙年展透過國際競賽展的舉辦呈現,欲以激盪臺灣陶藝創作與各領域的可能性及體現出不同意識形態,同時引領民眾進入陶藝美學世界及體驗陶藝美感。

本屆臺灣國際陶藝雙年展以「陶觀」為展覽核心與架構,為使觀者能有一概念性瞭解,本展將展出的119件作品,透過各藝術家闡述之主題與表現形式分為「陶器‧非器」、「觀物‧非物」兩大主題,探尋陶藝材質、功能、創作形式與空間及創作概念表達的關係。事實上,任何分類皆無法完整詮釋這些藝術家所賦予作品的創作理念與自身的創作思想,然而仍希望能透過引導性的主題式介紹及作品的視覺展示再現,引領觀者觀賞作品、反應觀點及觀念交流,進入藝術家的世界,掌握作品本質及現代陶藝創作的面貌與脈動。

網站連結 : http://public.ceramics.ntpc.gov.tw/2016/

2014臺灣國際陶藝雙年展
2014臺灣國際陶藝雙年展
臺灣國際陶藝雙年展自2004年首度舉辦至今邁入第5屆,已成為國際間陶藝交流的重要平臺。首屆雙年展,為了吸引全球陶藝家的參賽,祭出全球陶藝競賽的最高獎金,吸引了近700位的陶藝家參賽,從中選出入選及數件得獎作品參與展出,間隔四年後,2008年續以作品競賽方式辦理,吸引了50國的參賽者參加;歷經了兩屆的「作品競賽型」展覽及比較了國際上幾個知名的競賽型陶藝雙年展,觀察到所謂「參賽型」作品在國際間的競賽展重複出現,造成展覽內容的重複性與侷限性,因此,自2010年起,改以「策展競賽」及「作品競賽」每兩年交替辦理的模式,兼顧展覽的深度與廣度,一方面透過策展人所策劃的展覽,讓民眾看見更多不同類型的作品,另一方面也提供給陶藝家嶄露頭角的機會。

繼2012年作品競賽雙年展結束後,陶博館積極著手2014雙年展的籌備工作,延續2010年的「策展競賽」模式,於今年初針對陶藝專業人士、專家學者、策展人等廣發邀請,徵求策展企劃大綱,至3月底截止日前,共收到來自12個國家18件的策展企劃大綱,於4月29日下午於本館舉行初選,由策展人、陶藝家及專家學者組成的7位國內評審,針對策展提案的發展性與執行性,以及策展人的策展經歷進行評選,從18件提案中選出8件進入決選,此階段入選的策展人需進一步提交完整之策展企劃書。

決選企劃書繳交截止日6月30日前,本館共收到7位策展人之完整提案,並於8月5日上午舉辦決選會議,邀請了來自澳洲、美國及日本的3位國外評審以及4位國內評審,共同就策展企劃書之主題與論述的強度、展覽執行的可能性、內容的完整度、空間展示、教育活動、及媒體宣傳建議等項目進行討論,最後由南非策展人溫蒂•葛爾絲以其企劃案「當代陶藝:藝術、設計與數位材質」(展名暫定)獲選為2014臺灣國際陶藝雙年展優勝策展人。

綜觀這次7件策展企劃書的規劃,有從陶瓷媒材性質本身出發,將陶瓷的創作技法與過程呈現於展中;亦有結合現代科技,加入錄像、聲光、行動藝術等多媒體的表現;或者探討當代藝術陶瓷與新穎科技結合所發展出的3D列印與虛擬拉坯機等,不難看出策展人的創意構想及對於當代陶藝發展趨勢的觀察與創意,也為評審過程增添了不少討論話題。

評選過程中,不少評審提出「臺灣國際陶藝雙年展」應是一場國際性與在地性並重的展覽,能夠引發國際與臺灣之間的交流與對話,另一方面也期待這場雙年展能夠發揮影響力,做為未來陶瓷研究的論述依據,為當代陶藝的發展提出具國際前瞻性的視野,同時帶給國內陶藝家發揮啟發性的作用,而南非策展人溫蒂•葛爾絲的企劃書,除了探討地方的傳統陶藝作品、同時也將現今流行的陶瓷回收再利用的創作,以及當代陶藝與科技結合的新趨勢,一同呈現於展覽,回顧傳統又放眼未來,同時選件來源的多元性,以及結合臺灣在地文化的教育活動,得到評審們一致的青睞。

2012臺灣國際陶藝雙年展
2012臺灣國際陶藝雙年展
「臺灣國際陶藝雙年展」是臺灣唯一大型的國際陶藝專業展覽,陶博館自2004年首次舉辦雙年展,藉此展覽讓國際當代陶藝作品呈現於臺灣民眾面前,也讓更多國際陶藝人士來到臺灣,接觸與瞭解臺灣陶藝文化特色。經過多年累積,「臺灣國際陶藝雙年展」已逐漸成為臺灣與國際陶藝家交流切磋的最佳平臺。

本屆雙年展的作品是採作品競賽方式選件,而在競賽之外,我們也試圖進入111位作者藉作品傳達的意涵,並從中梳理出有意義的展示脈絡。藉由整個展覽的主軸概念與四個子題的分類引導,希望使觀看者更容易體會與欣賞本屆展覽作品。

陶藝觀象

「象」,意指表現事物樣貌。藝術家在作品上表達有形外觀或無形意念的過程,正是一種「象」的實踐。本次展覽的入選作品呈現出四種「象」的面向,包括:追求物件外觀之美的「物象」、挖掘內在意念情感的「意象」、敘述記錄當代社會環境的「紀象」、探討時空的變動與不穩定性的「變象」。

「觀象」,則指涉不同的詮釋角度。作者在作品中注入自我觀點,而當作品呈現在觀看者面前,詮釋權轉移到觀者身上,則有了不同的詮釋結果。作品如同一面鏡子,反射出觀者自身的生命體驗和內在狀態;觀者同時也從觀看過程中,重新審視萬象的關係和意義,並回饋予創作者,激盪更多不同的火花。

「象」與「觀象」,是創作者與觀者之間的不斷交互辯證,在這樣的動態過程中,我們得以逐漸形塑出更為多元的陶藝觀。2012臺灣國際陶藝雙年展藉由展覽活動的安排,鼓勵觀者賦予作品更多元的詮釋,在不設限的交互激盪下,展現屬於當代的陶藝視野。

給予展覽主題及分類,目的是希望使觀者更容易欣賞及理解藝術作品。但不可否認地,歸類雖有助於理解和定位,卻也可能框限了藝術的自由性。四個象度的歸類只是一個引導的起點,而如何詮釋和感受作品則取決於觀看者自身,這也才是本展覽真正的精神。本屆雙年展邀請4位藝術評論家,分別檢視四類作品並給予評論,期待能以不同的角度,為展覽帶來更多元的觀賞面向。

2010臺灣國際陶藝雙年展
2010臺灣國際陶藝雙年展
Korero(嗑牙樂)為紐西蘭毛利語的會話,意指一種觀念的交換。

這是一場國際級的展覽;一場關於陶藝—史上最古老的藝術形式之一,與當代生活之各種樣貌的對話。

美國偉大思想家愛默生 (R.W. Emerson) 在1849年曾經說過:「會話就是用舊詞表達新事物。」當會話應用在藝術上亦如是,特別在陶藝上;要利用這個長久存於歷史的古典雅器做為創作的工具,我們必須要用現代的手法來表現。

工作室陶藝與當代藝術的許多類型一樣,與其他藝術形式、歷史、哲學,以及更廣的領域如工業生產、當代生活中的現行思維和生活面向皆產生深刻交流,確切地說,是跟社會與文化作多元全方位的交流,在文字中即是大家所指稱的「會話」。

2008臺灣國際陶藝雙年展
2008臺灣國際陶藝雙年展
一座被海包圍的島嶼──臺灣,島嶼的人們大多聽聞過澎湃盈耳的海浪聲音,也感受過無垠海域的遙遠與壯闊。對那無邊無際之海的孺慕,不知是否己化為人民對這塊土地的印記。我們相信藝術的無限可能一如無垠的海洋,創作的自由度也如海洋般沒有界限、沒有框架。

2008臺灣國際陶藝雙年展以「無垠」為徵件精神,經過二年籌備、宣傳徵件、評審,共有來自全球5大洲58個國家684位陶藝家參賽,初審由7位國際評審依作品影像評比,共計有24個國家114位參賽者入選。今年3月底的決審則邀請評審親臨陶博館,進行為期二天的原件評審,經過數回合的投票、交叉討論,最終選出首獎、金獎各1名、銀獎2名、銅獎3名、優選5名及評審推薦獎7名,共19位獲獎陶藝家脫穎而出。

2004臺灣國際陶藝雙年展
2004臺灣國際陶藝雙年展
「2004第一屆台灣國際陶藝雙年展」在文化部「文化台灣,面對全球」的理念推動下,委託新北市立鶯歌陶瓷博物館以經辦國際陶藝展覽的活動經驗與實績承接辦理。本展結合國內外重要的藝文媒體、國際評審、來自47國692位陶藝創作者及周邊各種國際展覽專業人士的參與;經過徵件、初審、國際運送、開箱清點、現場決選、展示規劃等階段的努力,終於在2004年1月23日,將來自26國家地區124件作品呈現於國人的面前。

在這次的競賽作品中,我們看到來自世界不同地區、由不同作家創作、根源於不同文化背景的創作多元性;同時我們也見到在多元文化交流下的全球化趨勢;作家們在更廣泛的全球化軌跡中尋求自我定位的認同,並將在地的、個人的、表現的轉換為一種超越的方向類型。